Emmigration from Asturias

Researching our ancestors in Asturias & America.<br>
Investigando nuestros antepasados en Asturias y America

Moderators: svgev, Maria Garcia Alvarez, Moderators

jbarbo

Emmigration from Asturias

Post by jbarbo »

Terechu: Are there records of the asturianos leaving Spain?Did they have passports,visas,etc.to be able to leave.Did the government require exit documents?Did the ships require documentation other than money?Searching documents here in the US can be quite challenging.My grandmother left Spain to Le Havre,France with her five children and on to Ellis Island and then to Anmoore,WV to be with her husband,family and other spanish friends from her hometown with similar hopes and dreams...and here I am,her grandson,a son of Asturias, trying to relive what our ancestors went through.I have been studying my family history for over 40 years and I have been recording alot of it.Why didn't I listen more carefully to all the stories or save more earlier family photos?My family instilled in me special values,asturiano values ,that are with me to carry on loving my heritage and all the memories that I cherish.My grandfather did not realize what a wonderful life he was creating for his children's children.
Ron Gonzalez

Emmigration From Asturias

Post by Ron Gonzalez »

jbarbo,

I have asked myself the same question: Why did I not talk more to my grandparents about their life? I have always said that you need to ask why, what, when, where. Why did you come to the US? What did you think when you got here? But I, like others, did not ask, so you are not alone.

When I was a kid I ran around with a friend from Anmoore, Ronnie Barbo. Do you know him?
jbarbo

Friends of West Virginia

Post by jbarbo »