Asturianu - Language or Dialect?

Vocabulary & grammar of Asturian & Bable, comparisons with Castilian.<br>
Vocabulario y gramática de asturianu y bable, comparaciones con castellano

Moderator: Moderators

Bob

Post by Bob »

In some ways, asking whether a particular manner of speaking and writing is a language in and of itself, or merely a dialect or a variant of some other language is akin is asking whether two populations of living organisms are one species or two separate species. Some have suggested, perhaps in jest, that a language is merely a dialect with its own army and navy. I'm a geneticist and evolutionary biologist with no formal training in linguistics. My first language is English, followed by French and Spanish and a few others, all learned later in life. I am still learning asturianu and other languages spoken within Spain. Still, despite my lack of expertise and formal training, I think that common sense can shed light on a variety of disciplines, including linguistics.

In the final analysis, I think the distinction between a language and a dialect often amounts to a judgment call.

I would argue, however, that asturianu is best thought of as a language separate from but closely related to castellano for the following reasons: