Zinc Poisoning and Flu Mystery

> Formal: construction, farming, manufacturing, mining, small businesses, smelting, etc. > Informal: blackberry picking, boarding houses, bootlegging, clothes washing, sausage making.<br>
> Formal: construcción, agricultura, fabricación, minería, pequeñas empresas, fundición, etc. > Informal: cosecha de moras, pensiones, contrabandista, colada, embutimiento.

Moderators: Maria Garcia Alvarez, JuanLeon, Moderators

Manuell Alvarez

Zinc Poisoning and Flu Mystery

Post by Manuell Alvarez »

I worked as a draftsman for a brass foundry that cast brass that contained Zinc. The foundry workers when casting yellow brass would come down with the shakes, (Zinc poisoning), which they claimed was similar to having the flu.
Yellow brass is made with 50% Copper and 50% Zinc.
Some of the symptoms mimic the flu like fever, gastrointestinal problems, shaking with chills, headaches, and cough.
I would imagine that the West Virginia Asturian Zinc foundry furnace workers in Anmoore were subjected to bouts of Zinc poisoning.
My father said that his brother, Angel, died of the flu. Could it be that he had Zinc poisoning instead of the flu? Both have conditions that create respiratory problems. Unfortunately, we will never know which exposure that he had. Perhaps he had both.
Angel is buried somewhere in the Clarksburg area in an unmarked grave which in the early 1960's my late sister and father tried to find his grave to no avail.
Art
Site Admin

Post by Art »

That's an interesting question. It could have been related to zinc toxicity.

Do you know what year he died? I wonder if it was during the 1918 flu pandemic (January 1918 – December 1920), which was commonly called the Spanish flu? That nearly took my grandfather and left him deaf.
Manuell Alvarez