Music in Oviedo

Group &amp; solo; voice, bagpipe, guitar, drum, etc.<br>
Banda y solo; voz, gaita, guitarra, tambor, etc.

Moderators: mariamatoyos, Chris, Moderators

conan_mcdonnell

Music in Oviedo

Post by conan_mcdonnell »

Hi everyone

I came across this website while trying to find information about Oviedo. I'm an Irishman living in London. I've been playing Irish traditional music for about 24 years, ever since I was a kid really. For some time I've been interested in the music of Northern Spain - Galician, Asturian and Basque.
This Easter I'm hoping to visit Oviedo - it looks like a beautiful and fascinating city.
I was wondering if any members could give me advice on where to go to hear Asturian music in Oviedo over the Easter weekend, and if it's worth bringing my accordion to learn some tunes. In fact, any useful information on what to do and where to go would be very gratefully received.

Thanks for your help. Sorry, my Spanish is terrible and my Asturian non-existent (although hopefully that will change).

Go raibh míle maith agaibh!

Conán McDonnell
Chris
Translator

Post by Chris »

Wellcome to the forum Connan!
There is some places(pubs and Bars) in Oviedo whrere they play Asturian music.but not a lot. you should go to chigre el naranco I think its a good one.
Ill try to find more.
conan_mcdonnell

Thanks Chris! I will certainly try out the bar you mentioned, and take the opportunity to sample some cider too.

Cheers

Conán
Chris
Translator

Post by Chris »

Well if you want sider you have to go to Gascona Strret
there is a lot os sidrerias over there.
Art
Site Admin

Post by Art »

Hi, Conán (love that accent!),

Very interesting question. Is there a tradition in Asturias of musicians joining together for an informal "session" or a jam?

Are there any festivals at this time of the year? I was amazed by the quality of the music at the Romería de los Santos Mártires (Valdecuna near Mieres).